HomeNewsNoonan, Wilson & Hodson Murrindindi Shire's Australia Day award recipeints

Noonan, Wilson & Hodson Murrindindi Shire’s Australia Day award recipeints

Community members and visitors around Murrindindi Shire celebrated Australia Day on Saturday 26 January, with eight events taking place around the municipality.

Murrindindi Shire Council Mayor Sandice McAulay attended the celebrations in Alexandra and Marysville.

Murrindindi Shire Australia Day Awards:

  • Matthew Noonan, Murrindindi Shire Citizen of The Year;

“We were proud to recognise Matthew Noonan with the Murrindindi Shire Citizen of the Year award. Mr Noonan has served 10 years as Limestone Fire Brigade Captain and some 20 years on the Yea Agricultural Show Committee, and that’s not to mention his contribution to the Yea Tennis Club. Mr Noonan is a quiet and committed man who has had a deep and lasting influence on the social and cultural life of the Limestone and Yea communities.”

  • Tamara Wilson, Murrindindi Shire Young Citizen of The Year;

“Tamara Wilson was awarded ‘Young Citizen of the Year’ because she has demonstrated an extraordinary commitment to her community in Marysville – volunteering for the Brownies and the Lions Club, just to name a few of her fundraising and community support activities. Ms Wilson is a young person dedicated to furthering herself and is a role model to her peers. We’re looking forward to seeing the impact she will have in the future!”

  • Norma Hodson, Murrindindi Shire Senior Citizen of The Year;

“Always there when things need to be done or if someone is in need of assistance – that’s Norma Hodson. Mrs Hodson is well and truly a worthy recipient of the ’Senior Citizen of the Year’ award for Murrindindi Shire. Mrs Hodson has spent more than 60 years as a member of the Country Women’s Association in Yarck, almost 50 years on the Yarck Hall Committee and 40 years as a member of the Alexandra Pastoral and Agricultural Ladies Auxillary. Mrs Hodson is an inspiration to us all,” McAulay said.

“Australia Day is the day to reflect on what it means to be Australian, to celebrate modern Australia and to acknowledge our history. It’s a chance to celebrate all the things we love about Australia and an opportunity to recognise the contributions of all Australians,” McAulay said.

“As well as being an occasion to have a snag (onions on top) with your friends and neighbours, Australia Day events in Murrindindi Shire also give you the chance to find out who will win the Australia Day Awards. This year, Murrindindi Shire awarded ‘Citizen of the Year’, ‘Young Citizen of the Year’ and ‘Senior Citizen of the Year’ to Matthew Noonan, Tamara Wilson and Norma Hodson respectively.

“The panel of judges had to make some tough decisions as all the nominees are truly committed and inspiring members of the community,” McAulay said.

“We are very proud of all our Australia Day Award recipients – there can be no doubt they each deserve to be recognised for their contributions to our communities. It is people like Mr Noonan, Ms Wilson and Mrs Hodson who make Murrindindi Shire such a special place to live.


“It was also fantastic to have Associate Professor Debra Bateman, Mohammed Alam and Paul Guerra out and about at Australia Day events as our Australia Day Ambassadors.

“The Australia Day Ambassador Program aims to provide an opportunity for all Australians to meet and gain inspiration from Australian achievers who come from all walks of life. The Ambassadors aim to promote the meaning of, and participation in, Australia Day across the nation,” Cr McAulay said.

“Thanks to everyone who got involved in this year’s events, and an especially big thank you to those hard-working community groups who always go to so much effort to make Australia Day in Murrindindi Shire so special,” Cr McAulay added.


Most Popular

Moir’s View …

Moir’s View …

Discover more from VicNews

Subscribe now to keep reading and get access to the full archive.

Continue reading